Todd and McCaffery Join Supreme Court; Castille Takes the Gavel

The Supreme Court continues to go through a period of rapid personnel changes after a long era of stability. January sees the departure of former Chief Justice Ralph J. Cappy, and of Justices Cynthia A. Baldwin and James J. Fitzgerald III, who were completing terms vacated by prior Justices. Justice Ronald Castille ascended to the role of Chief Justice. Justices Debra Todd and Seamus J. McCaffery, elected in November 2007, took their seats.  Both were elevated from the Superior Court, where Justice Todd began service in 2000 and which Justice McCaffery joined in 2004, after a decade of service on the Municipal Court of Philadelphia County.